Dirt Track Racing Headlines



Bloomquist wins Smoky Mountain Outlaws 50!

Smoky Mountain Speedway, Maryville, TN

World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series

May 7, 2016

Scott Bloomquist, Mooresburg, TN, captured the $10,000 win at the Mountain Outlaw 50 race Saturday night at Smoky Mountain Speedway. Bloomquist worked the bottom of the track heading for the front, and finally passing Casey Roberts for the lead and scoring the win.

Car Count – 45

Pole Sitter – Casey Roberts

Feature Finish –

  1. #0 – Scott Bloomquist
  2. #44 – Chris Madden
  3. #1 – Josh Richards
  4. #157 – Mike Marlar
  5. #101 – Casey Roberts
  6. #7M – Donald McIntosh
  7. #17M – Dale McDowell
  8. #15 – Steve Francis
  9. #7 – Rick Eckert
  10. #21JR – Billy Moyer Jr.


Shane Clanton wins the Kentucky Klassic at Ponderosa Speedway Friday night - May 6

Shane Clanton wins the Kentucky Klassic at Ponderosa Speedway Friday night – May 6

Shane Clanton Claims World of Outlaws Ponderosa Win! 

World of Outlaws Craftsman Dirt Late Model Series

Ponderosa Speedway, Junction City, KY

May 6, 2016

Grabbing the lead from his outside front row starting spot, Shane Canton led all 50 laps to win the $10,000 World of Outlaws Craftsman LM Series at Ponderosa Speedway’s Kentucky Klassic Friday night. Holding off a late race charge from Chris Madden, it was Clanton’s third World of Outlaws win in 2016.

Pole Sitter – Greg Satterlee

Fast Qualifier – Josh Richards

Car Count – 29

Cautions – 2


Top Five Feature Finish –

  1. #25 – Shane Clanton
  2. #44 – Chris Madden
  3. #22 – Gregg Satterlee
  4. #18 – Eric Wells
  5. #5 – Don O’Neal


Bloomquist Wins the Budweiser 50 at Tri-City Speedway

Lucas Oil LM Dirt Series

April 29, 2016

Scott Bloomquist took the lead on lap 42 of the caution free 50 lap feature to win the Budweiser 50 Friday night. Battling Davenport the entire race, Bloomquist made the final pass for the lead with 8 laps to go and captured his third Lucas Oil late Model Series win of 2016.

Car Enties – 35

Fast Time – Dennis Erb, Jr.

Top Ten Feature Finish –


  1. #0 – Scott Bloomquist, Mooresburg, TN
  2. #6 – Jonathan Davenport, Mount Airy, NC
  3. #28e – Dennis Erb, Jr., Carpentersville, IL
  4. #5 – Don O’Neal, Martinsville, IN
  5. #39 – Tim McCreadie, Watertown, NY
  6. #15L – Darrell Lanigan, Union, KY
  7. #18 – Shannon Babb, Mowequa, IL
  8. #20 – Jimmy Owens, Newport, TN
  9. #32 – Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, IL
  10. #777 – Jared Landers, Batesville, AR


Gregg Satterlee Win Hagerstown with Last Lap Pass over Bloomquist!


Hagerstown Speedway, Hagerstown, MD

Lucas Oil LM Dirt Series

April 23

Gregg Satterlee got under Scott Bloomquist on the last lap in the 60 lap feature at Hagerstown Speedway to win the $12,000 Lucas Oil LM Dirt Series race Saturday night. Satterlee’s win of the Stanley Schetrompf Founders Day Classic at Hagerstown Speedway was his first career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win. Hagerstown Speedway’s crowd went wild for Gregg Satterlee on Saturday night — and he loved the adulation.

The 31-year-old driver from Indiana, Pa., deserved it, too, after pulling off a dramatic, final-circuit pass of Mooresburg, Tenn.’s Scott Bloomquist in the 60-lap Stanley Schetrompf Founders Day Classic to capture the most earth-shattering victory of his career.


Car count: 35

Fast qualifier: Earl Pearson Jr.

Polesitter: Jimmy Owens

Top Ten Feature Finish –


1.  #22 Gregg Satterlee Rochester Mills, PA

2.  #0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN

3.  #39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY

4.  #6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC

5.  #7v Rick Eckert York, PA

6.  #777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR

7.  #1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL

8.  #20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN

9.  #5 Don O’Neal Martinsville, IN

10. #21 15L Darrell Lanigan Union, KY


Chris Madden Wins the Ultimate LM at Rome Speedway

Rome Speedway, Rome, GA

April 24

Ultimate Super Late Model Series

Chris Madden of Gray Court, SC, started second but took the lead and led all 40 laps to take home the $4,000 purse in the Ultimate Super Late Model Series sanctioned Rome Rumble. Madden has now won nine career Ultimate SLM Series events, and has victories in 7 of his last 11 starts over the past 2 months, including his $6,000 win at the Spring Nationals at Senoia Raceway in GA, Saturday night.

Car count: 28

Fast qualifier: Tyler Millwood

Top Five Feature Finish –

1. #44 Chris Madden

2. #25 Shane Clanton

3. #76 Brandon Overton

4. #157 Mike Marlar

5. #101 Casey Roberts


Bloomquist Takes the Bad Boy 98 Win at Batesville Speedway

Lucas Oil LM Series

Batesville Speedway, Locust Grove, AR

April 16,2016

Scott Bloomquist took the lead on lap six from polesitter Wendell Wallace and led the rest of the way to capture the $20,000 prize at the Batesville Motor Speedway Saturday night. Bloomquist dominated the entire weekend at Batesville, setting fast time and winning his heat race on Friday night earning the outside front row starting spot fot Saturday nights Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series – COMP Cams Dirt Series, presented by Lucas Oil, a co-sponsored event. Earl Pearson Jr. finished second, followed by Don O’Neal, Jared Landers, and Brandon Sheppard.



  1. #0 – Scott Bloomquist, Mooresburg, TN
  2. #1 – Earl Pearson Jr., Jacksonville, FL
  3. #5 – Don O’Neal, Martinsville, IN
  4. #777 – Jared Landers, Batesville, AR
  5. #B5 – Brandon Sheppard, New Berlin, IL
  6. #15 – Steve Francis, Ashland, KY
  7. #15 – Darrell Lanigan, Union, KY
  8. #28 – Dennis Erb Jr,. Carpentersville, IL
  9. #39 – Tim McCreadie, Watertown, NY
  10. # 18 – Jack Sullivan, Greenbriar, AR


Tim Dohm Takes the Win at the Earl Hill Memorial at Tyler County

Earl Hill Memorial

Tyler County Speedway, Middlebourne, WV

April 16, 2016

Tim Dohm of Cross Lanes, WV started fourth and grabbed the lead on an early restart to win the 27th Annual Earl Hill Memorial race at Tyler County Speedway.

Car count – 29

Polesitter – Eddie Carrier Jr.

Fastest Qualifier – Tim Dohm

Top Ten –

  1. Tim Dohm
  2. Jared Hawkins
  3. Eddie Carrier Jr.
  4. Mike Benedum
  5. Kyle Thomas


(bigracenut.com staff)